Hyperbolic Paraboloid Shell

According to Edward Allen’s Fundamentals of Building Construction Materials and Methods, courtesy of Thomas Rosell’s Architectural Word of the Week series, a hyperbolic paraboloid shell is

… a concrete roof structure with a saddle shape…

Please, oh please, TR, tell me I have found a hyperbolic paraboloid shell, and actually recognized it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Hyperbolic Paraboloid Shell

  1. I’d say you’ve found a hyperbolic paraboloid. Where is this groove porte cochere?

    Like

  2. Suzassippi says:

    Oh, my word–more new terms! A groove porte cochere? That sounds so much more classy than “covered drive-through” doesn’t it? It is at the Washington Hilton–the one where Hinckley shot President Reagan. I looked out my hotel window from across the street every day, and on the third day, exclaimed, “Wow–I just noticed that is a hyperbolic parabaloid shell” and then waited for my friends to say “a what?” Yep, of course they did.

    Like

  3. I just realized that this is the location where John Hinckley Jr. attempted to assassinate president Reagan.

    Like

  4. I dont know whyit our earlier comment did not click. But I just saw a documentary on the attempt that has showed several diagrams and lots of photographs

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.