El Dorado Municipal Building

El Dorado Municipal BuildingI chanced on this “Classical Revival/Modern Movement” (National Register of Historic Places) Art Deco style building (Arkansas Historic Preservation Program) building in the El Dorado Commercial Historic District quite by accident, even though I was driving directly to the street address.  I was just on the wrong end of the street.  I had forgotten what building I was seeking and when I saw this baby looming up on the corner, I pulled into the parking lot across the street.

I surmised from the design that it was a New Deal building, but I surmised incorrectly.  The building was constructed in 1927, by architects George R. Mann and Eugene John Stearn, and formally opened February 17, 1928.

The elements of Classical Revival seem to be related to the Greek Key design, swags, and urns located on the tower, and on the pilasters and relief detail on the front facade.

And the building I was actually seeking?  Well, I discovered when looking at my notes after arriving home that it was on the South end of the street…and was the 1940 gym built by the Works Progress Administration.  It is still in existence, and still in use by the South Arkansas Community College.

This entry was posted in Art Deco architecture, Classical Revival, Modernism and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to El Dorado Municipal Building

  1. Is that George R. Mann of Arkansas and Mississippi capitol fame?

  2. Jeff Davis says:

    Now your in my neck of the woods. Good stuff.

  3. Pingback: Union County Courthouse: El Dorado | suzassippi: red shutters

Leave a Reply

