Quitman County School Bus Shop: Formerly known as car dealership

I have driven past this building for at least 8 years.  I cannot recall the first time I actually noticed it, as in “Wow! Look at that building.”  I know that I did not recognize it as an Art Moderne building until I started following Preservation in Mississippi.  I knew I had seen plenty of these funky looking buildings, but I did not know they had a name.  Thus, for at least 3 years, I have driven past the bus shop in Marks, Mississippi, thinking to myself that one day I would stop and take a picture.

Growing up in the 50s (after Art Moderne had hit its peak, and we were moving toward other forms of modernism) I saw many such similar buildings in the small towns in which I lived.  Most buildings this size housed car dealerships, with the broad expanses of glass designed to allow lots of light in which the auto on sale would best be showcased for the potential buyer.  The opaque glass blocks were another common feature, as they emitted light, while allowing privacy.  (Are we in the manager’s office and establishing your credit?)

This building has been credited with having been a Chevrolet dealership, but there are no details as to when, or when it changed usage.

This entry was posted in Art Moderne, Mississippi Delta Towns and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Quitman County School Bus Shop: Formerly known as car dealership

  1. That wonderful old building, on Highway 6 outside Marks, was Barringer Chevrolet in the 1950s and 1960s.

  2. Suzassippi says:

    And another mystery solved!

Leave a Reply

