How Suzassippi became a horse…a tale from Lottabusha County

ShuttersBack in 2011, I was asked to do a week of guest posts for Preservation in Mississippi, which was a WordPress blog. I had been blogging on Blogger, and the two platforms are quite different so I started this blog as a way to practice using WordPress before I was up for publication.  A year later, I was asked to start doing regular contributions, so I needed a gravatar.  On Blogger, I had used my actual photograph, as did most of the blogs I followed, but on Preservation in Mississippi, I noted the norm was non-human images, so not wanting to seem all egotistical and out of step, I tried to find something to represent me without being me.  I had taken the above photo in Natchez, and liked it, and from that, pulled the name Suzassippi: red shutters to distinguish from Suzassippi’s Lottabusha County Chronicles.  I rather liked my red shutters, but it seemed as if every time I turned around, I got a message suggesting I needed a better image on my gravatar.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERACan ya’ll tell I like red?  I have always loved this photograph of wine barrels, taken on my first visit to South Africa in 2001, so I played around with using them.  Cropped to fit the gravatar space, it just did not work.  I left the shutters alone for a while, and then decided to try something a little more colorful and defined.  Enter the crossroads.

CrossroadsThat’s all about Mississippi, right?  On Blogger, I updated my profile photo fairly regularly, because, well, people change.  I am a cat person, so I tried a cat.Cinco de 2014Now, Cinco, adorable as she is, is not that well “defined” or colorful.  In a gravatar size, she looked kind of like she does in real life: a mottled mess.  A couple of days of that, and I knew it wasn’t going to work for me either.

I definitely prefer the WordPress format, and it will do so many things Blogger cannot.  I have contemplated changing over, but the reality is that the two blogs are different in focus and I kind of like to keep it that way.  It does not, however, solve the problem of finding a gravatar that I like and that resonates with me.  I hit on Rio a few days ago.

RioRio is my 89 year old father’s horse, and I have gotten extremely attached to him in the past two years of regular trips to Texas to help with caregiving.  When I am home, I feed, fork hay, clean out Rio’s barn, clean his water trough, and spend a lot of time out in the pasture with him since Dad can no longer do it.  At Thanksgiving, Dad’s little jenny died, and Rio has missed her, so I am excited to head to Texas tomorrow for a week and see my boy again.

And that is how Suzassippi became a horse.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to How Suzassippi became a horse…a tale from Lottabusha County

  1. ELMalvaney says:

    Not just any horse, but Rio the Horse, who’s a beauty! This was a fun post! P.S. We wouldn’t have thought you were egotistical if you just went with a portrait, but then you wouldn’t have had a good story to tell. 🙂

  2. Susan Lentz says:

    Loved this – thanks!

    • Suzassippi says:

      You should have been with me at dawn this morning, breaking ice off his water in 19 degree weather. 🙂 At least the wind was not blowing 40 miles per hour like it was yesterday.

  3. I will miss Red Shutters, but I look forward to seeing Rio!

Leave a Reply

