Sunflowers: One woman’s passion is another woman’s bane

Rio through the sunflowers

Rio through the sunflowers

I love sunflowers, have always loved sunflowers, and seeing a big ole’ stand of them just makes me smile.  Rio’s pasture is full of them right now.  A couple of nights ago, I was dispatched over to my aunt’s to pick up pea salad she had made for Mom.  I commented on the two very large sunflowers growing in her garden, and how pretty they were.  She said the birds had “planted” those for her.  I commented that I loved sunflowers and that they were beautiful, even if there by accident.  She said my grandmother told her once to never put sunflowers on her grave.  I laughed and said probably because she had to try to keep them out of the crops in the field.  Aunt Gwen said,

“Yes; she said she spent her whole life hoeing sunflowers out of the crops, and she did not want them on top of her grave.”

I suppose that would give one a different point of view–having walked down those long rows of cotton and wheat in the hot Texas sun, shielded only by a bonnet and trying to keep the sunflowers from sucking up all the moisture and nutrients from the crops that you needed just to survive another year.

I might never look at another sunflower without now thinking of Mama Rogers.  While I promise not to ever put them on her grave, I have been wanting to clip a few and bring them in to the breezeway so I can see their sunny yellow faces.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sunflowers: One woman’s passion is another woman’s bane

  1. socialbridge says:

    Suz, I’m totally with you about sunflowers but more than understand that flowers can have all sorts of different meanings for people.
    A very thought-provoking post.

    • Suzassippi says:

      So true about meanings and flower preferences, as well as what they evoke in us. What was thought-provoking for you? I’d like to know more about that.

Leave a Reply

