The Gathering

Gathering

Sitting at my desk early this morning, I heard the steadily increasing volume of birds…lots of birds.  (Everyone who remembers Alfred Hitchcock’s The Birds, with Tippi Hedren, knows what I am talking about here.)  I had just been out to put out seed, but hey, I knew those were not my cardinals making all that racket.  I glanced out the window and there they were–thousands of them.  I was standing in the driveway taking photographs when my son came out the door with an incredulous look on his face asking “What is this?  And why?”

Grackles.  Migration.  It will pass.

This entry was posted in Mississippi, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Gathering

  1. Beth says:

    UGH! They are the most disgusting birds and yet I love their chatter! They took over San Antonio for a while, but are down to a manageable herd/flock/pack now.

  2. We have them here on the coast but I hate them. They are such a nuisance in the cities and make such a mess when they roost. At home they chase other birds away from the feeder and splash all the water out of the birdbath as they bathe. Luckily we do not have them as you did. It was really like a scene from “The Birds.” Good photo!

    • Suzassippi says:

      Thank you, CC! We had them back in Abilene, TX where I lived before, and they would hang out for days in the trees in the park behind our house. They were here only that one morning, on a stop further south I guess.

  3. Laura says:

    Amazing and scary photos of those grackles! That’s a lot of birds in one place.

    • Suzassippi says:

      Sure was! They were in all of the trees around here, and that is a lot of trees! I kind of like them though, and the whirring sound they made when they all took off.

Leave a Reply

