The Weston, Built of Brick, Is Credit to the Whole Coast of Mississippi. Finely Equipped.
The Biloxi Daily Herald, October 18, 1924, reported on the opening of “the fine new hotel built by farsighted business men of Bay St. Louis and Hancock county.” The Bay Hotel Company, and president H. S. Weston, was said to represent the latest and best type of hotel construction. Architect Willliam T. Nolan, a Quebec City native who moved to New Orleans in 1900, and contractor/builder Albert Tolle used “tapestry brick” and
The absence of ‘gingerbread’ work and other cheapening effects with a view of hoping to add to attractiveness, was eliminated and in stead we find a building that is actually handsome and imposing [sic].
The “handsome and imposing” building was constructed in the Spanish Mission style according to the Mississippi Department of Archives and History.
Equally amazing in 1924, every room had a telephone. The chef was Henry Gianelloina,
“who ability is well known.” The Weston was the site of a luncheon for local dignitaries at the completion of construction of the HWY 90 bridge across the bay. The dedication ceremony for the new bridge was held at the Weston (Hancock County Historical Society).
After the passing of Mr. Weston, the hotel was was sold to Charles Reed of New Orleans and the name changed in 1930. In 1939, Reed sold the hotel to George Wilkinson of Gulfport and Howard Dayton of Albany, Georgia (Daily Herald, September 29, 1939, p. 6).
At some point, it operated as the Hotel Reed Nursing Home until the 1990s. Two weeks after the city ordered the former hotel demolished in 2011 as a public nuisance, the hotel burned. The remains were demolished in 2012.