The Blue Bird of Happiness

Every spring, when the bluebirds show up, I get the sense that spring is really here to stay.  It always brings a smile to my face when I look out my window and see them for the first time that year.  This week, in spite of the rains, the bluebirds are back.  Even though he seems pretty far afield from his normal habitat, this guy is a mountain bluebird, sialia currucoides, from the thrush species.  (Since I live on a hill, I think he just feels at home here.)

In 1934, composer Sandor Harmati and lyricist Edward Heyman wrote “The Bluebird of Happiness” for singer Jan Peerce, a favorite at NBC’s Radio City Music Hall.  Peerce recorded the song in 1936 under the name Paul Robinson.  Peerce went on to have a lengthy career singing at the New York Metropolitan Opera.

This entry was posted in Mississippi and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Blue Bird of Happiness

  1. Thanks for sharing your bluebird – we will not have any here. He does seem right at home! Enjoyed the music too.

    • Suzassippi says:

      Oh, I love to see those bluebirds out there this time of year, and the yellow orioles start coming to the feeders around now, too. I found the song by accident, and am not sure I ever heard it. Apparently, several different artists have recorded it, including Jimmy Durante and Art Mooney among others.

  2. Beth says:

    I miss the birds and their different calls. The noisy jays and bob white doves especially! Thankful I have cardinals here. No bluebirds, but bluebonnents 🙂

  3. Suzassippi says:

    Yes, it is a regular symphony this time of year in my front yard.

  4. socialbridge says:

    Lovely post, Suz. Bluebirds seem so exotic.

Leave a Reply

