A work still in progress, but almost finished: The Headboard wall

Why does everything take so long?

…and, I am not finished yet! While I know that color drenching is a current trend, when I first spotted this and it earned a space in my Wall Decor file, it was quite a while ago. I spotted the design on the cover of an African music album. I was so entranced–here, let me show you!

I confess, I just fell in love with the image of this family and the monochrome decor. I also enjoy various African music genres, from several different areas of the continent. Personally, I have never been into the family pajama thing that my sis and bro and their families do every year at Christmas, so I don’t see R and J and I donning blue clothing and sitting on the bed for a photo shoot. But, those empty picture frames the same color as the wall!

As always, I take a bit of poetic liberty and switch it up a bit, and I am probably not done switching yet, but that is for another day. There has just been a whole lot of manual labor involved around here, and I am dancing as fast as I can! Let’s just say finding the shower chair R will need in another week involved extensive moving of things to locate it, which was of course in the further-most inaccessible location possible. But I took advantage of the effort, got rid of some things needing getting rid of, and cleared a little more space on the screened porch.

In an effort to streamline the function of this room, I moved out nonessential items, replaced a big L-shaped desk with just the keyboard/monitor portion, invested in a small corner shelf what could easily contain my personal grooming items, the printer, and my daily jewelry choices, and moved the second chest to the new room. Sometimes, it is good to know when you really do not need all the things you have. While utilitarian is okay for some things (i.e., the bins that hold my items) I like to enjoy looking at things that make me happy as well.

Here are a couple of the various views of the headboard wall:

Two more small and simple tasks, and this will be fini!…or that is the plan, right? So from my color drenched room to yours, good night and thanks for stopping by!

This entry was posted in Mixed Media Art, Reuse, Recycle, Repurpose and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to A work still in progress, but almost finished: The Headboard wall

  1. Of course, it’s been my experience that a room, even if I decided it is done, really ends up not quite being done…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve enjoyed your renovation. I looked blankly at the empty picture frames.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. One must always have a bit of color! Looking good!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Betty says:

    The best part is you enjoy the room! It reflects who you are in various ways, and it restores you in more ways than one. Enjoy!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Beth says:

    I have read that your bedroom is very influential in how you sleep. I have to think that since you’ve customized this bedroom to reflect your tastes and inner feelings that you will have many nights of sound sleep! I love the wall with the picture frames, great texture!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Suzassippi says:

      Very interesting, Beth! I certainly have slept better in here, which I mainly attribute to the new bed. Interestingly, however, light does not bother me like it used to, and the sheers mute it, but still do not distort it. I like the picture frames, too, and it is fun to see them in the mirror.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Charla says:

    Your headboard area is such a neat idea. You are so talented!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Suzassippi says:

      Thank you, Charla. I don’t think talent has much to do with it, but I can look at something and try to replicate it!

      Like

      • Charla says:

        See, THAT is talent. 🙂 To be able to look at something and not only replicate it but make it your own is very cool.

        Liked by 1 person

        • Suzassippi says:

          You are so sweet! I did read an item when I first started to do art that was titled, “So you think you can’t draw?” It actually suggested to find things that appeal to you and try to replicate them. I do now add my own thoughts or designs, and sometimes, just create it from the get-go, but I am still learning new things.

          Liked by 1 person

  7. Julia says:

    Anytime you need something, it always turns out it is in a hard to reach location! It must be some hidden rule in physics! 😁

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Julia says:

    And…I hit reply instead of return. The room is gorgeous! I love how you are using your printer to hold things, but it is still easy to get to. I had seen the empty frames on a wall before, but didn’t know it had a name. I learned something new.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.