Windy walk around Lake Patsy: Exploring on the open waters

R decided he wanted to walk around the lake today. It had been cold and raining this morning, but it had stopped and the sun came out. It was still cool and very breezy however. About halfway around, he needed to stop and rest. The Canadian Geese were quiet today, mostly feeding, and none were in the lake itself.

One actually walks around only 3 “sides” of the lake on the trail, so it was more akin to walking across the end of the park the last portion…uphill and then downhill and then up the steps to the car on the upper parking level. Today was a .84 mile walk and 28 minutes. There were folks picnicking, studying, lying in the sun in shorts and strapless tops (don’t know why–it was pretty chilly out there!), and walking their dogs.

I loved this sculpture! I imagine the deep waters of the ocean surrounding him, setting out in his tiny boat to see what is out there beyond his eyesight. This sculpture is titled “I Went to See” by J. Aaron Alderman of Brevard, NC.

As an artist and a sculptor, I use the repetition of simple lines, in the form of round stock steel, to capture a tender emotional expression of the human and animal form. Through this highly physical process I am driven to create sculptures that are ego-less, expressive in their form, emotive and connective. With simple tools I draw in space, repeating stylized lines, which in-turn creates the structure of my sculptures. As each line captures the contours and musculature of the body, these same lines begin to tell a subtle story. Each line builds on the next, flowing with rhythm and pattern, the form is revealed, and the story builds along with the rawness of emotion.

J. Aaron Alderman, Statement, Red Sheep Gallery
This entry was posted in landscape architecture, Oxford, Ecosystem and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Windy walk around Lake Patsy: Exploring on the open waters

  1. I’ve been enjoying the sculptures in your park posts. I may have fogotten to mention that before. I love the island in your Lake!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Suzassippi says:

      Thank you, Cathy! I find most of them just fascinating, but occasionally I hear myself saying “okaaay”. They have them in two places at the University, at the Powerhouse (theatre and arts venue), and in another park. One of these days, I will have to go check out those places.

      Like

    • Suzassippi says:

      Don’t those bands of round steel just evoke the sense of muscles, tendons, veins, and arteries in the body! 

      Like

  2. Julia says:

    Thank you for sharing “I Went to See.” I found it to be very intriguing. I liked how the sculpture was shaped from rods of medal. It gave it a feeling of movement more than just the boat and oars provided.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Suzassippi says:

      I am glad you enjoyed it, Julia. I was really intrigued and another woman who has been walking there about the same time as we are, came over and we discussed it. It is so wonderful, and yes, the feeling of movement was palpable!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I enjoy the sculpture photos. It looks like a lovely park.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Betty says:

    That is a great sculpture, and its title, “I Went to See” is also quite clever. What a great idea to have these sculptures in a park where so many can enjoy them.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Beth says:

    I think this sculpture is chasing after Texas Cowboy-Rocket Man on his flying carpet! The lake is beautiful, reminds me of my grandfather’s small lake in Eupora.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Suzassippi says:

    I enjoyed my visit to Eupora and all I learned about there. Is your grandfather’s lake still there?

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.