Herron House

Herron House was built in Oakland in 1907.  And that is all I can discover about this place.  It currently operates as a bed and breakfast, and I passed up the opportunity to visit!  Not long ago, I was contacted by a former Oakland resident who had run across my blogs.  She shared some interesting history about Oakland and shared some historic photographs with me, as well as some stories of her childhood.  I was invited to attend a reunion, including a stay at the historic Herron House.

As much as I had looked forward to the day, it had more than its share of glitches.  First of all, I got a late start due to having some past due work that had to be finished.  I knew I would miss the potluck, but thought I would be there in plenty of time for some of the program and to meet my new cyber acquaintance.  It’s only about an hour to Oakland from here, and I made it by 1, and called S to let her know I was there.  Her phone went to voice mail and I left a message.  There were a few booths out on the lawn, and folks milling around.  I asked around for her, but no one seemed to know where she was.

I went inside the church building, where the program was occurring, thinking I might spot her–or she might spot the stranger walking in with the camera equipment.  I took a seat at the rear as it was very crowded–a good turnout for the reunion.  It was hot as it can only be in Mississippi in the summer, and folks were fanning like crazy.  I did not have a fan, and I felt the sweat begin to trickle down my neck.  I found a clip in my bag and twisted my hair up into my usual scruffy knot when it is hot, and wondered how long I could manage the heat.

“Ladies and gentlemen, live from Memphis, Tennessee—–Elvis!  Yes, out swivels Elvis with his slicked back hair, black suit, shirt, and white shoes.  He explained right before he launched into “Blue Suede Shoes” that his blue suede shoes had finally worn out and he had some on order and they had yet to arrive.  I know I was way in the back in the nosebleed seats, so it’s hard to say for sure, but I believe it was Elvis.  Here’s proof:

Did I mention I don’t do well with the heat these days?  It was getting very crowded by the back door now, and stifling is the word that comes to mind.  I finally stepped outside and decided to wander around and take some photos to wait for S to call back.  Apparently, our voice mail messages were still circling in cyberOakland and I had to be back in Taylor for another commitment.  Maybe next year….but I hear the reunion was a great success!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This entry was posted in Mississippi, Mississippi Delta Towns and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Herron House

  1. Susan says:

    Hi. This is a house we mentioned in our last posting on Tiny Travels Through Mississippi – the article on the I-55 corridor. We just happened upon this place and were boldly taking photos when the owner drove down the driveway on her way somewhere. She was real friendly and said she wished she had time to show us around. We wished that too. Didn’t know it was a B&B, she just said they had just finished redoing it.

  2. SuzanFreibert says:

    Hi Susan.. It is the infamous S…here! Loved the blog and still so sorry we did not connect. Please plan for next year and I will definitely be in touch. I did pick some items up to send you; a Oakland fan, bouchure, and some other goodies. I did tour the Herron Home and it is AMAZING. Please email and let me know where to send Oakland “goodies”. I will stay in touch and hope you will do the same. Love following your blogs!
    Suzan Irby Freibert
    ps We were in the North Mississippi Herald-Water Valley 🙂

    • Suzassippi says:

      I didn’t know if you would want to be outed. 🙂 I am sorry I missed you, too, but it looked like there was way too much going on in the church. Thanks for following–I post every Tuesday on the Preservation in Mississippi blog, by the way. I will look up the news article!

    • Suzassippi says:

      Great article–and no, I never saw you, now that I know what you look like! I saw Rosemary and Mike, though of course I did not know who they were either at the time.

Leave a Reply

