Steaks, grilled veggies, and fresh herbs

Steaks on the new MasterBuilt

Alas, I did not get my steak dinner reward Tuesday night after changing the tractor tire. Nor on Wednesday night for that matter–thunderstorms. It was raining this morning when I left for a dental appointment, so when I got home I worked on the cemetery project mapping until 4:30. I was ready for a break from the computer and went to clean up the front porch as I am getting ready to rip off the handrail in preparation for the new deck that will extend from the porch. I had some things to take to the dumpster and cardboard for the recycle center, so when I came in to tell Randy I was doing that, he was seasoning steaks, and had the squash and zucchini on the cabinet asking how to prep them for the grill. He will grill corn on the cob, but that is the limit of his veggie skills, until today that is!

After I returned home from the recycle bins, I snipped fresh rosemary, dill, and basil from my new herb pots. I had a perfectly lovely vine-ripened tomato, which I paired with feta, rosemary, and basil. The dill went on my baked potato, and the squash was spicy with a little red pepper flakes. The rib-eye was delicious. He uses the Meat Church series of seasoning rubs.

That’s the news from Taylor Hillside today! More rain on the way tomorrow and the yard already needs to be mowed since last weekend! Wishing all of you a lovely 3-day weekend if you have one coming and please remember to be safe!

This entry was posted in Food and Wine, Outdoor cooking, Reuse, Recycle, Repurpose and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Steaks, grilled veggies, and fresh herbs

  1. Betty says:

    That meal was worth waiting for! Hope you enjoy the weekend, too!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Grilled veggies are so versatile, especially in the rare event there are any left over!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Beth says:

    Looks good, I need to get some “grillin’ stuff” for the weekend.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.