Red Shutters Redux

I have found a new interest in my photographic jaunts–going behind buildings.  It all started with Malvaney suggesting I look at the back of a building when trying to determine if the front was original or a facade.  The rear of these buildings in Water Valley actually face a street, not an alley.  Now that I think of it, I am not sure if I have ever seen any alleys in Water Valley.  First Impressions described this street as an “eyesore” but I found it pretty fascinating.  Of course, I am not the typical tourist and a lot of unusual things fascinate me, like these rusted and/or painted metal shutters.  What was the original purpose of this opening?  What is behind it?  And, there is another one of those things that once held some type of electrical wire, in the lower right hand corner.

In this picture, the insulators are more readily visible.  This is one of many variations of early insulators.  Note the variation in the size and shape of the bricks, and the variation in the way they are laid.  Maybe Thomas Rosell will stop by and give us a lesson?  At the top of the building, you can see where the brickwork has been repaired, as well as the vestiges of some type of vine.

This entry was posted in brick work, Mississippi. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Red Shutters Redux

  1. Thomas Rosell says:

    You are going to give me a big head. haha. Without seeing more of the building I couldn’t venture to say too much. I’m guessing that this is a second story? Metal shutters or wood shutters wrapped with metal are often used on brick or other “fireproof” construction in a urban setting. The bricks are common bricks, basically meaning they were not meant to be seen because they are on a secondary facade. Not knowing the age of the building I wouldn’t be able to speculate on the variation in the size of the bricks. It looks like the little patch would have been an attic vent.

  2. Suzassippi says:

    It’s on that block in Water Valley between the Presbyterian Church and the BTC Old Fashioned Grocery, so I am assuming late 1800s. And, yes, a second story.

  3. Thomas Rosell says:

    Dang Google Streets won’t let me go down Duncan Street. I guess I’ll just have to check it out in person the next time a hurricane sends me up that direction. 🙂

Leave a Reply

