Hazlehurst First United Methodist Church

Hazlehurst Methodist Church

Gothic Revival, built 1928, Hazlehurst Mississippi (Mississippi Department of Archives & History, Historic Resources Inventory Database).

detail

door tower wupper window Y tracery

This entry was posted in churches, Gothic Revival, Mississippi and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Hazlehurst First United Methodist Church

  1. Beth says:

    I love Gothic revival! I assume there is stained glass in the windows? I would love to see the inside.

  2. Suzassippi says:

    It is a style I am beginning to appreciate more, like others as I learn more about them. Brutalism, for example! I think I will build my dream house in Brutalism style, though the French Beton Brut sounds so much cooler!

    Yes, stained glass windows. I have noted many churches (which were built years and years ago) have glass outer windows. I have assumed it was a protective measure put in place with all of the vandalism these days, but do not really know for sure. I just do not ever recall having seen it in my younger years, and see it a lot now.

  3. Cool y-tracery and quartafoils! You are right that the storm windows are not always original. A lot of times an exterior storm window is added to protect the stain glass but also as the window ages the french whiting putty in the lead or zinc caming deteriorates and can let elements seep in or out of the windows. This deterioration isn’t a major structural problem and the storm windows fix it along with adding protection. It used to be that plexiglass was popular for church storms but plexi breaks down in the UV awfully bad. A lot of the windows installed now days have UV protection integrated. The Biloxi Cathedral, Nativity BVM, recently installed some of the nicer storms I’ve seen in a while.

    I didn’t know you had become so fond of Brutalism! I’ve got a post coming up that you’ll love.

  4. ELMalvaney says:

    I’ve always loved this church and especially its almost Art Deco-geometrical towers! I wish we knew the architect.

    • Suzassippi says:

      Me, too. You can imagine my disappointment at not being able to discover anything other than the date and style! So, in that case, pictures win out over text. Maybe that is a good plan anyway.

  5. ELMalvaney says:

    Love your new header, by the way!

    • Suzassippi says:

      Thank you. I was stuck on keeping the shotgun houses, but took a cue from you and decided to change it yearly…but once I started, it was hard to stop and I got bored with the Clarksdale header. I think I might leave this one for a while, though. It was an unexpected delight on my recent trip. Who would have thought?

Leave a Reply

