Geiger Field: Spokane, Washington

Laundry Day at Geiger Field: Dad on the right–the tall one of course!

[Missing] Bob Wooldridge has [missing] transferred from Ham-[missing] eld, Calif. to Geiger [missing] pokane, Wash. where [missing] ending U. S. Engineers [missing].

Uncredited newspaper item in Grandma’s scrapbook.

I have not been able to find this in any of the area newspaper archives, so once again, I assume it was the local small town newspaper in Proffitt. A few items about Dad appeared in the Olney and Graham newspapers which were the largest towns in the county. By the time he left Hammer Field in California, he was already in the Aviation Engineers training.

Geiger Field to Be Training Center

SAN FRANCISCO, Mar.1 -(AP)- The army’s Fourth airforce headquarters announce today that Geiger Field, Spokane, would here-after be used as the aviation engineer unit training center for the Fourth airforce.

Corvallis Gazette-Times – 01 Mar 1944, Wed – Page 5 – (Corvallis, Oregon)

I was unable to locate the news item in the Great Falls Leader from Montana shown below, so I am unable to figure out why that was included, unless for some reason he sent a newspaper from there. The Greetings from Portland, Oregon souvenir may be related to just traveling through on the troop train from California and a stop prior to Spokane. I did find one newspaper items about work the Aviation Engineers did in Oregon.

The Bend Bulletin, Bend, Oregon, Friday, June 16, 1944, p. 2.

This was the type of work Dad was being trained for, and what he did in India and China after he shipped overseas. Similar work was also done in the Coeur d’Alene mountains, to build a runway. They transported their “tournapulls, heavy ‘cats’, bulldozers, scrapers, sheep-foot rollers and all the heavy equipment needed by the world’s most highly mechanized construction soldiers” (Engineers Do It: 1886th Aviation, Geiger Field, Cuts Out Landing Field in Idaho Forest. (August 20, 1944). The Spokesman-Review, Spokane, Wash., p. 29.). The landing strip was completed with 15 days, constructed in the Horse Heaven canyon, to be used in fire fighting activities.

The primary function of the Aviation Engineers was to construct airdromes, air fields, and air bases. At Geiger, training in basic combat and use of heavy equipment for construction was part of their routine. In the page from Grandma’s scrapbook labeled “Geiger Field, Dad is in the photographs on the rope (top row center and second row left and center (on the gun), bottom row left (sitting on the rock), and bottom row center (leaning against a building with another soldier).

In the two photogrqphs above, Dad is on the far left, slouched on his buddy, and on the right on the Tournapull (sitting on the wheel).

Caricature of Dad getting an injection

Dad sent several sketches of himself home over the time he was in the Army Air Force. Charles F. Spewachek “Bud” was from Milwaukee, Wisconsin, born a year before Dad. He was 16 in the 1940 Milwaukee census, and after release from the Army, was in the 1950 Milwaukee census as a real estate salesman, living with his wife Arlyn. He died in December 1971, but I have been unable to locate any other information about him. He was only 47 at his death. His wife later remarried (she was 7 years younger than he was) and died in 2010, still in Milwaukee.

This is classic Grandma!

I wondered why this chaplain bulletin was in the scrapbook…until I read the notes. The chaplain had stated in his message:

Have you written home this week? Do so by all means. Your Chaplain received a splendid letter from one GI Joe’s mother. He had written her about our chapel services, enclosing a program. We are grateful for his word to his mother and her word to us. It gives us strength and inspiration. But more than that, it gives your mother trust and faith in you. She glories in your faithfulness.

Vesper Service, Geiger Field.

When I read that, my first thought was “it was Dad’s mother!” Grandma was famous and infamous for her letters. It took me a while to read the faded note on the right margin, but it reads:

Wonder who wrote Ha! I know
Love,
Bob
This entry was posted in Army Air Force, Family, World War II and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Geiger Field: Spokane, Washington

  1. Another amazing collection of memorabilia! I love the caricature, and wonder about the Portland souvenir!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Suzassippi says:

      Thank you, Dorothy. I like the caricature also! My favorite was one that was a sketch of Dad leaning back on his bunk and it looked exactly like him. I think Sis has it, and it was framed with a sketch done of Mom while she was in college and we had them together on the wall in Dad’s room after he was bedfast, along with his other favorite pictures. I should look up the Don’t get caught with your pants down!

      Liked by 2 people

  2. This is just so interesting. All of it! I did have to look up “Horse Heaven canyon” – I found one in Nevada and one in New Mexico; and a Horse Heaven Hills (and middle school!) in Washington. I’d never heard of it before so I got lost in that rabbit hole for awhile. You write these pieces so well.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Suzassippi says:

      Thank you so much, Cathy. I probably add way more than most folks care about or read, but I am learning so much that I never knew, and it just puts a personal story in perspective for me. I always knew what Dad did in the Army Air Force, but nothing about being in all these places or how he learned those skills other than “in the Army.” There is still a Horse Heaven Airfield right in the middle of the Coeur d’Alene forest.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Betty says:

    It is wonderful to recognize personalities through the old keepsakes. That must be a treasure for your heart. I also think whoever saved the “Don’t be caught…” was also displaying a sense of humor. Nice caricature, too!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Suzassippi says:

      It is indeed wonderful, and a treasure for my heart indeed. How I wish I had known all this before Dad was gone and could have asked him about it. The wonderful thing about his disease was he had great recall of the long-term memory and had lost the inhibition of sharing it. Still, thanks to the wonders of the Internet and folks who care enough to share the stories and digitize records, I am still learning a lot. Grandma saved the souvenir panties.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Betty says:

        I can remember many stories my Grandma told, but long after she passed away, I thought of some questions about it all. I guess we try to piece together as best we can (with you ranking elite detective), and then treasure what we do know.

        Liked by 2 people

  4. Beth says:

    How sweet, love this!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Suzassippi says:

      Thank you, Beth. I was able to go to Texas over the long weekend and visit Mom and Dad’s graves. I loved that someone in the little country cemetery had put a flag on each veteran’s grave. I will post about it later. We are still traveling home, but overnighting and it gave me a chance to catch up on things!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Your dad did difficult and often dangerous work. Tough guy!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Suzassippi says:

      He pretty much was a tough guy, Andy. Growing up in the Great Depression shaped who he became. It was dangerous, both in war time and then as he continued it once he returned home and used those skills to earn his living.

      Like

  6. Priti says:

    Beautiful collection! Well shared 👌

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.