Poppies on Porcelain: Ivory Porcelain by Sebring

Embossed flower border with green and red floral pattern

In addition to this small plate, the pattern that Replacements, Ltd. called “green and red floral pattern” is found on a square plate shape with fluted edges and a green border. The flowers appear to be poppies to me. Sebring did have identified poppy patterns, such as the Goldenrod Poppy, also called Golden Maize, but it is different from this one. Like most pottery factories, Sebring developed a variety of combinations of flowers with shapes, sometimes for special orders. It was also common to produce “blanks” which was a shape (such as the oval with embossed flower edge) and then add different patterns.

This small oval plate measures only 7 1/4 inches by 5 1/4 inches, so I think it might have been used as a bread and butter plate, or the base plate for a gravy boat. Sebring Pottery introduced the line of Ivory Porcelain in 1923 and it was produced in a variety of shapes and patterns. I have not located this particular combination in anything online, nor at replacements.com, nor historic newspapers–though plenty of other styles abound. I do find a large oval platter with the same embossed flower/bead scalloped border with roses encircling the center instead of the poppies. There is also a plate in this embossed style that has no painted flowers in the center and a small blue trim where this one appears to have had either gold or platinum–most of which has worn away. Ivory Porcelain was produced with both gold and platinum rims in several of their shapes and patterns.

Ivory Porcelain by Sebring. Reg. U.S. Pat Off Pat 2-24-1925

Ivory Porcelain was tinted with the ivory color, rather than just fired onto the white porcelain. This resulted in the ivory color being all the way through the dish, rather than like Platonite, only being fired onto the surface and the bottom or back of the dish remaining white. In 1923 when Ivory Porcelain was introduced, I found only two patterns/shapes identified in the newspapers of the time. However, the embossed floral rim with different floral sprays are found on 3 patterns in Replacements, Ltd., and the green and red floral pattern is found on one different shape style.

Sebring Pottery was opened in 1887 by Frank Sebring in East Liverpool, Ohio. In 1900, the company made plans to relocate to Sebring, Ohio. The news reported in December 1900 that

The Sebring Pottery company have placed on top of their building an elegant metallic sign. When completed it will be lighted up with electricity. As a sign board it is without equal in this city.

The News of Sebring. (Dec. 8, 1900). The Evening Review, p. 3

In 1923, Sebring’s son, Charles L., then president of the company, introduced the Ivory Porcelain line. I found this small plate at some store in Texas, with no recollection of where I bought it. I just liked the colors and the shape and the embossed edge. I set the Old Ivory Fiesta creamer on top of it one day merely as a matter of convenience, and liked how it looked together.

Old Ivory Fiesta creamer on Sebring’s Ivory Porcelain

I might need to hang on to the Fiesta creamer for a while, and just duly note to whoever wants it that I will pass it along once I am done with it sitting on my Ivory Porcelain plate.

This entry was posted in Family, Vintage dishes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Poppies on Porcelain: Ivory Porcelain by Sebring

  1. Beth says:

    I love this as it can be very elegant on a formal table or just cozy on a breakfast table. Ivory is a timeless color and the delicate embossing is enchanting. A modern chic piece for sure!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Betty says:

    Very elegant. It could hang on a wall, too. I enjoyed the newspaper clipping about the new electric sign. My, how times have changed! Nice book collection, too!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Suzassippi says:

      So true–can you imagine a new “lighted up with electricity” making the news! I love books and like to hang on to some of them. Thank you for noticing. I have personal connections with two of those authors, and through the magic of writing, have connections with the others. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. suzanfreibert says:

    Hi there!   I love reading your blog.  I’m not sure if you remember me, but back in 2012 I invited, and you came, to the “Oakland Event”  in Oakland Mississippi.  It was at the Presberytian Church and we had the Elvis Impersonator.  Sadly, we never connected, but thank you for coming.  I currently live in Tucson, AZ, but Oakland is my childhood hometown, and I still am so drawn back there.  I wanted to let you know of another event.  It is the Oakland Town Market (first one!) and will be held in the same area.

    “Our first Oakland Town Market will feature fabulous Florida Beach House pieces curated by Martha Ross Smith along with art and gifts from local artisans and friends. Martha has also found a few amazing project pieces for those who like to add their own touch!”

     It is scheduled for Saturday, September 4. 

    Hopy you can come and we can actually meet this time! Sincerely,Suzan Freibert  

    Liked by 1 person

    • Suzassippi says:

      Hi, Suzan! Of course I remember you, and now and again I revisit the photographs of that day. I have intended to visit again since I discovered a few New Deal sites there. It sounds like a wonderful event, and I will put it on my calendar. Thank you for letting me know, and let’s make plans earlier this time to connect if you can. It is always a pleasure to meet people who actually lived in and know about a community.

      Like

  4. I love this pattern! So pretty!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Vintage porcelain is always interesting. Reminds me of when I was living at the mansion in Mississippi and did research on many companies. I read where there were so many factories in the Stoke on Trent area in England that ashes from the cole-fired kilns covered everything. I really enjoyed reading about the companies and the families that started them.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Suzassippi says:

      I have not had the occasion to check out English china, but plenty from Japan and the US. I do find it fun to track down patterns and shapes!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Importing porcelain was a big business for a few department stores. A few family members from some companies even started companies in the US. Making blanks and selling them to be painted by other companies was also a HUGE business, which is why you may sometimes see a double stamp. Not all blank porcelain imported to the U.S. had stamps, though. Wasn’t the clay (for porcelain) also obtained from coal mines? I forget. I had probably about 100 documents and several hundred photos saved, but they are in an old laptop that hasn’t been turned on for years (bad battery).

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.